Wednesday, September 21, 2016

2016 IBWAA Season Awards Ballot

As the 2016 Major League Baseball season comes to a close, award season begins to rear its head. While it's been a tough slate for the hometown Minnesota Twins, the year has produced plenty of great performances. Being a member of the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America as well as the Vets Committee, I have the privilege of turning in a ballot for Season Awards each year.

For 2016, IBWAA president has set a cut off date of October 2 for ballots to be place. With most teams having right around 10 games left in the regular season, my ballot was filed to IBWAA Founding Director Howard Cole recently. As I have done every year, my vote is now going to be made public.

The IBWAA votes on ten different awards (five for each League). Below are the full results of my selections for each award. Feel free to engage in discussion and share your thoughts in regards to my votes in the comment section below.

American League MVP

  1. Mike Trout
  2. Mookie Betts
  3. Jose Altuve
  4. Josh Donaldson
  5. Brian Dozier
  6. Manny Machado
  7. Adrian Beltre
  8. Dustin Pedroia
  9. Adam Eaton
  10. Kyle Seager
American League Cy Young
  1. Masahiro Tanaka
  2. Rick Porcello
  3. Chris Sale
  4. Aaron Sanchez
  5. Corey Kluber
American League Rookie of the Year
  1. Michael Fulmer
  2. Gary Sanchez
  3. Tyler Naquin
American League Manager of the Year
  1. Terry Francona
  2. Jeff Banister
  3. John Farrell
American League Reliever of the Year
  1. Zach Britton
  2. Andrew Miller
  3. Edwin Diaz
National League MVP
  1. Kris Bryant
  2. Corey Seager
  3. Daniel Murphy
  4. Freddie Freeman
  5. Nolan Arenado
  6. Anthony Rizzo
  7. Joey Votto
  8. Christian Yelich
  9. Justin Turner
  10. Paul Goldschmidt
National League Cy Young
  1. Noah Syndergaard
  2. Clayton Kershaw
  3. Kyle Hendricks
  4. Madison Bumgarner
  5. Jon Lester
National League Rookie of the Year
  1. Corey Seager
  2. Trea Turner
  3. Trevor Story
National League Manager of the Year
  1. Joe Maddon
  2. Dusty Baker
  3. Brian Roberts
National League Reliever of the Year
  1. Seung Hwan Oh
  2. Kenley Jansen
  3. Mark Melancon